Abandoned Vehicle Abatement Service Authority

Purpose and Authority

The County adopted a resolution to establish the Abandoned Vehicle Abatement Service Authority (the Authority) and impose a $1 per vehicle registration fee to address abandoned vehicle nuisances in September of 1991. The voters of Contra Costa County reauthorized the Authority until 2032 by passing Measure G on the June 7, 2022 County election ballot.

Meetings and Agendas

The Authority meets annually with occasional special meetings as needed.

The 2022 Annual Meeting will be on December 7, 2022

Most Recent Agency (PDF) / View All Agendas

  1. Board Members
  2. Resources
  3. Contact Us

Board Members

Board members include the County and two representatives from west county, central county, and east county. Members are elected every 2 years. 

Jason Crapo, Board Chair - Contra Costa County
Robbie Bienemann, City of Brentwood - East County Representative
Alma Causey, City of Richmond - West County Representative
Myla Rivers, City of Pittsburg - East County Representative
Theresa Sanchez, City of San Ramon - Central County Representative
Brain South, City of Moraga - Central County Representative
Joseph Vasquez, City of Hercules - West County Representative

All Contra Costa County cities are participants in the Abandoned Vehicle Abatement Service Authority.